About WISE

WISE (Women in Science and Engineering) is a faculty group dedicated to educate, advance, and mentor women in the pursuit of STEM-related fields at MVCC.WISE Logo

Organization goals

  • To provide a support network for women in STEM fields.
  • To raise awareness of the gender gap in STEM fields and the unconscious bias against women in these fields.
  • To seek out role models of successful women in STEM fields for mentoring and speaking opportunities.
  • To make MVCC a place where women can feel comfortable entering STEM fields.
  • To make connections with local schools to let young women know that they can succeed in STEM at MVCC.

Learn more about WISE

Check out our Facebook Page! 

To learn more, contact WISE mentors and advisors:

Chemistry:

Joyce Baumann, Chemical Engineering
Academic Building 222, Utica Campus
315-792-5503
jbaumann@mvcc.edu

Fumin Pan, Chemistry
Academic Building 224, Utica Campus
315-792-5504
fpan@mvcc.edu

Physical Sciences:

Shahida Dar, Physics (Co-chair WISE)
Academic Building 254
315-792-5633
sdar@mvcc.edu

Margaret Reilly, Civil Engineering
Academic Building 137B, Utica Campus
315-731-5723
mreilly@mvcc.edu

Life Sciences:

Melissa Barlett, Microbial Ecology (Co-chair WISE)
Payne Hall 388, Utica Campus
315-792-5471
mbarlett@mvcc.edu

Maureen McCleary, Microbiology
Payne Hall 381, Utica Campus
315-792-5374
mmccleary@mvcc.edu

Eileen Bush, Anatomy & Physiology
Payne Hall 387, Utica Campus
315-792-5597
ebush@mvcc.edu

Lindsey Geary, Geology
Payne Hall 385, Utica Campus
315-792-5362
lgeary@mvcc.edu

Mathematics:

Barbara Turner
Payne Hall 393, Utica Campus
315-792-5478
bturner@mvcc.edu

Anna Radlowski
Payne Hall 383, Utica Campus
315-792-5585
aradlowski@mvcc.edu

Norayne Rosero
Payne Hall 381, Utica Campus
315-792-5623
nrosero@mvcc.edu

Nelissa Nowicki
Academic Building 228C, Utica Campus
315-792-5515
nnowicki@mvcc.edu