Completion Coaches | MVCC | Mohawk Valley Community College
skip to main content
Adjust Font Size

Completion Coaches

Photo of Maimun Kahn, Rachel Golden, & Salina Billins                 

Front row, left-to-right: Maimun Khan, Justin Johnson, & Rosa Portorreal

Back-row, left-to-right: Rachel Golden & Salina Billins

Completion coaches provide a wide range of support services and individual guidance to help students overcome barriers to college success. Students are divided among the coaches by major, and every student has a coach.

Find out which major is assigned to which Completion Coach

Instructors with specific concerns about any student can refer them to a completion coach. We encourage referrals from all faculty, staff and administrators. Examples of possible reasons for referring a student to a completion coach include: early and repeated absences, lack of class participation, poor academic performance, health issues, and personal struggle to name a few.

The easiest and most effective way to refer a student to our completion coaches is through the Starfish Early Alert System. Starfish allows faculty to be proactive, supportive, and involved in early detection and intervention of students who may be at risk. Instructors can access Starfish through Blackboard.

For those that do not use Starfish, completion coach referrals can be sent by emailing completion@mvcc.edu. Please make sure to include the student’s M number, and briefly describe your concern in the referral.

All five completion coaches have offices located in the Learning Commons (Information Technology building, room 129).

NamePhoneEmailEducation
Maimun Khan315-792-5539mkhan@mvcc.eduBA, George Washington University
MS, Boston University
Justin Johnson(Utica) 315-792-5464
(Rome) 315-334-7778
jjohnson@mvcc.eduBA, Utica College
MA, SUNY Albany
Rosa Portorreal315-792-5451rportorreal@mvcc.eduBA, University Del Turabo
MA, University of Phoenix
Rachel Golden315-792-5514rgolden@mvcc.eduBA, Utica College
BA, SUNY Buffalo
MS, Touro College
Salina Billins315-792-5390sbillins@mvcc.eduBA, SUNY Buffalo
MS, Utica College

 

Completion coaches responsibilities: Academic support, life support, & study skills support for students