Francis A. Wilcox Exceptional Student Scholarship


Mr. Francis A. Wilcox was a decorated U.S. veteran who served in World War II.  After serving in the U.S. Army, he became an electrical engineer with General Electric in both Syracuse and Utica.  After retirement, he volunteered at the Utica Public Library and the Oneida County Historical Society where he helped people from all corners of the United States research genealogy.

The Francis A. Wilcox Exceptional Student Scholarship was established in his memory by his family. The purpose of the Full-Tuition Exceptional Student Scholarship is to attract academically strong students and to maintain an enriched environment for all students.

Deadline to Apply: N/A
GPA: Top 10% of class
Available to: Incoming students
Duration: 1 Year — may be renewed, up to 4 consecutive semesters
Availability: Incoming students
Amount Awarded: Full tuition, less financial aid (including up to $500 Pell)


  • You must be in the top 10% of your class
  • Must reside outside of Oneida County
  • Must be enrolled at MVCC for a minimum of 12 credit hours
  • Must have a letter of verification that you are in the top 10% of your graduating class from your high school principal or guidance department
  • Must complete the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) prior to submission of scholarship application
  • Must submit documentation of extraordinary extra-curricular credentials, i.e., class or community leader, exceptional recognition and honors received in the arts and sciences, exceptional athletic skills, etc.
  • Students who are selected as Francis A. Wilcox Memorial Exceptional Student Scholarship recipients earn an invitation to apply for the Honors Program. Information and the application form may be found at:
  • A copy of a high school transcript and a letter of recommendation

Application process: Contact Institutional Advancement in Payne Hall Room 220 for an Official MVCC Francis A. Wilcox Memorial Full-Tuition Exceptional Scholarship Application

Selection by: Scholarship Review Committee