Developmental Course Completion | MVCC | Mohawk Valley Community College
skip to main content
Adjust Font Size

Developmental Course Completion

Developmental English

Rates for successful completion of Developmental English attempted in the first semester, indicated by a grade of C or better, for all three cohorts-students aged 20-29; low income students; and Black/Hispanic students-lagged behind students not included in the cohort. Developmental English includes EN099 Introduction to College English and, beginning in Fall-2013, EN090 Basic Writing Skills.

Developmental English Success for 20-29 year olds Developmental English Success for PELL recipients Developmental English Success for black and Hispanic students

Developmental Math

Like Developmental English, success rates for Developmental Math attempted in the first semester were lower for all three cohorts. The difference ranged from a minimum of just one percent in Fall-2012 for 20-29 year olds to a maximum of 26percent in Fall-2015, for Black and Hispanic students.

Developmental Math includes MA045 Basic Math Skills and MA050 Introductory Math until Fall-2014, when MA089 Arithmetic, MA090 Essential Math Skills, and MA091 Introductory Algebra replaced MA045/050.

Developmental Math course success for 20-29 year olds Developmental Math course success for PELL recipients Developmental Math course success for Minorities

Developmental Reading

Success in Developmental Reading attempted in the first semester closely followed the overall population. In some years, the cohorts identified for ATD actually were more successful than students not in the cohort

Developmental Reading Success for 20-29 Year Olds Developmental Reading Success for PELL recipients Developmental Reading Success for Minorities

 


Council for Initiative Analytics (CIA)

Marie Miknavich (chair)
mmiknavich@mvcc.edu

Jim Myers
jmyers@mvcc.edu

Colleen Cornmire
ccornmire@mvcc.edu

Jim Lynch
jlynch@mvcc.edu

Jim Sunderhaft
jsunderhaft@mvcc.edu

Julie Dewan
jdewan@mvcc.edu

Mike Faitell
mfaitell@mvcc.edu

Nelissa Nowicki
nnowicki@mvcc.edu

Rosemary Mink
rmink@mvcc.edu

Rosemary Spetka
rspetka@mvcc.edu